top of page
  • lasportswriters

Class of 2021 Inducted

Even with Hurricane Ida bearing down on the Louisiana coast, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2021 took its rightful place in the Hall of Fame on Aug. 28.

Marques Colston, the all-time leading receiver for the New Orleans Saints, former LSU basketball standout Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, and football’s Glenn Dorsey, along with former LSU track and field coach Pat Henry and Southern Jaguars and MLB baseball star Rickie Weeks were enshrined, along with Baton Rouge native softball great Courtney Blades-Rogers, and Natchitoches native Villis “Bo” Dowden, the 1980 Bassmaster Classic champion.

Winners of the LSWA’s Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism were New Orleans television sports anchor Ro Brown, longtime Hall of Fame chairman Doug Ireland and Baton Rouge Advocate sportswriter Sheldon Mickles.

Hammond native and LSU alumnus Terry McAulay, a 20-year NFL official who refereed three Super Bowls, was the 2021 winner of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page