top of page
  • lasportswriters

Announcing the Hall of Fame Class of 2022

NATCHITOCHES – The Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame announced its induction class of 2022 on Sept. 29. The nine-member group includes former New Orleans Saints’ offensive guard Jahri Evans, former Buffalo Bills defensive tackle Kyle Williams, the late ULL baseball coach Tony Robichaux, three-time national champion gymnast Susan Jackson, two-time first-team All-America softball pitcher Britni Sneed Newman, the late LSU football lineman Eric Andolsek, pro rodeo great Steve Duhon, Baton Rouge-Episcopal High School track and field/cross country coach Claney Duplechin, and the late Dr. Eddie Flynn, who as a Loyola-New Orleans student won the 1932 Olympic welterweight boxing gold medal for the USA, the last gold medal for an American boxer for 20 years.

The Class of 2022 will be enshrined Saturday, June 25, at the Hall of Fame’s home in Natchitoches to culminate the 63nd Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Celebration June 23-25.

A 40-member Louisiana Sports Writers Association committee selected the 2022 inductees out of 139 nominees from 26 different sport categories on a 33-page ballot.

The ceremony also will honor the winner of the 2022 Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award, and two recipients of the 2022 Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism presented by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association, the parent organization of the Hall of Fame. Those inductees from contributor ballots will be announced later this year.

The complete 12-person Class of 2022 will increase the overall membership in the Hall of Fame to 468 men and women honored since its founding in 1958.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page